Back to All Events

The James Monroe Presidential Inauguration: A Bicentennial Commemoration and Reflection

  • Church of Our Saviour Oatlands 20340 James Monroe Highway Leesburg, VA, 20175 United States (map)

Commemorate the 200th anniversary of James Monroe's inauguration as President of the United States.  Monroe served as President from 1817 to 1825.  He is locally known as Loudoun County's resident President.

The program will be held at Church of Our Saviour Oatlands followed by a reception at James Monroe's Loudoun County home, Oak Hill.  

Speakers at the symposium include Scott Harris, Executive Director of the James Monroe Museum and Memorial Library; Dan Preston, Editor of the James Monroe Papers; Sara Bon-Harper, Executive Director of James Monroe's Highland; and, Gordon Kray, sculptor of the James Monroe Statue in Williamsburg.

Tickets are $110 for each MHAA member, and $125 for the general public.  Your registration includes lunch at Church of Our Saviour Oatlands and refreshments at Oak Hill.  Purchase your tickets below or by calling (540) 687-6681.

See the detailed schedule of events here

from 110.00